Coconut muffins

I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that I still worry about what people think of me. Certainly, I am much, much more comfortable in my own skin than I was five years ago (late teens – early twenties is not a period of my life I’d ever choose to relive but would anyone?). But  still, I wonder if I’ll ever be able to completely forget about what other people think. In many ways, this is a good thing – it bring with it empathy and sensitivity, an awareness of how you affect others. But it also means that I waste so much time worrying about silly little things – whether my fellow commuters will sneer at my choice of book or if my housemates will hate the dinner I’m cooking. It was this dinner worrying that made me realise how ridiculous these stresses are – I liked dinner and that was enough. Besides, my housemates don’t make themselves sick with worry if I don’t like what they make.

This is a long detour on the way to today’s recipe but I promise, we’re almost there. I wasn’t sure whether to post this recipe out of fear they wouldn’t measure up. It’s true, they don’t look quite as lovely (or as big!) as their inspiration over at Smitten Kitchen. But I have to get over this fear sooner or later so here they are. Besides, they made my lunch box all week which has to mean more than a pretty face.

Coconut muffins (adapted slightly from Smitten Kitchen)

It’s true, these cupcakes aren’t the prettiest things around but they are delicious. The scent of the coconut is just divine and they were still moist on the fourth day we were eating them – I think this may be a muffin record.

3/4 c plain flour

1/2 c wholemeal spelt flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 c desiccated coconut

1/3 c macadamia nuts, toasted and roughly chopped

1/2 c virgin coconut oil

1 c greek yogurt

1/3 c caster sugar

1 egg, at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat the oven to 375′F. Line a standard muffin tin with patty cases.

2. Sift both flours and baking powder into a bowl. Add desiccated coconut and macadamia nuts.

3. In a separate bowl stir together coconut oil, yogurt, sugar, the egg and vanilla. It will look like a big, oily mess but it will come together.

4. Add the coconut oil mixture to the flour and mix until just combined. Divide the batter amongst the muffins tins.

5. Place in preheated oven and bake until golden and a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean, about 20 mins. Remove from the oven and leave to cool. Store in an airtight container if you don’t polish them off on the spot.

Notes

  • Deb’s recipe includes salt. I find adding salt to sweet desserts is a feature of American recipes and most of the time, I love it. But with these muffins it was too much. The second time I made them I left the salt out altogether and much preferred them. If you do add salt, I would recommend table salt rather than something with big flakes, like Maldon.
  • I bought my macadamia nuts already toasted but if yours are raw, here is a handy how to. Don’t leave the nuts out – they really make these muffins!
  • It’s warm here in Sydney right now so my coconut oil was liquified when I went to use it (there’s no need to store it in the fridge!). I didn’t need to heat it but if yours is solid, follow Deb’s instructions to heat just until melted.
  • Does anyone have any must-make coconut oil recipes? I’m such a convert!
2 thoughts on “Coconut muffins

Leave a Reply

